ARE YOU EXCITIED?

So it turns out that those weeks before you go on a big trip can be somewhat painful. Sometimes I feel that my life is a little bit like the movie Groundhog’s day in that every day, every conversation you have- doesn’t matter who you’re talking to- revolves around the same thing: your travel plans. When are you leaving, where are you going (where is that, exactly?), what are you bringing, what are you doing there, are you nervous, ARE YOU EXCITED, etc. I was hoping to make these last few weeks as normal and routine as possible, to perhaps ease the transition, but it doesn’t seem possible with everyone harping on this every day. Here are your stock answers:

  1. I am going to Freiburg, Germany.
  2. It is in southwest Germany, in the Black Forest region, near the borders of France and Switzerland.
  3. I am leaving in one week, on February 28th.
  4. Officially I am going there to study German language and culture. In reality, I am going there to become fluent in German and to see and experience Europe. I am interested in the day-to-day lives of Germans, but I do not give one single, solitary fuck about their history. I don’t care if I never see the inside of a German classroom. I intend to drop out of school upon my return to pursue art. Yes, I am absolutely certain about that.
  5. I am not nervous. I see no reason to be nervous (a big shift from my last post).
  6. I am not excited at the moment. The stressors of travel are currently preventing me from becoming super duper excited.

My mother in particular has this habit of bringing up travel concerns several times a day, every day. I understand that it is because she cares, and she is worried about me. I appreciate this more than she can know, but at the same time, it’s driving me completely insane. There was a nasty scene in Target today, when, while shopping for European plug adapters, I flipped out on her. Before we left the house, I explained that I needed a plug adapter for my camera’s battery charger. I showed her the charger and pointed out that because the European power stats were within the device’s range, I would only need a plug adapter, and not a power converter (which is more expensive). When we got to Target, she asked “Do you need a power converter?” I said “No.” I pick out some plug adapters, while she inspects a power converter. “Why are you looking at power converters? This is all I need.”

“But don’t you need a power converter?”

And this is the part where I lose my fucking mind in the middle of Target.

I think she sensed me writing this, as she just came in to placate me with mini doughnuts.

It was wrong of me to blow up. I’m no Jedi master, and my mental discipline is not spectacular.

My point is basically this: have patience with people. Normal people (in other words, not me, and probably not you) are excited about these sorts of things, and usually perfectly willing to blather on and on about them…and thus, other people expect them to. Just be patient.

Leave a Reply

